Classic Rock Lyrics

Led Zeppelin I Lyrics

Led Zeppelin I

Led Zeppelin, released on January 12, 1969 (see 1969 in music), was the first album by the British blues/rock band Led Zeppelin. The groundbreaking record is seen as one of the most impressive and important debuts of rock music, creating an entirely new interpretation of the genre. The album established Led Zeppelin's then-unique dynamic, from their fusion of blues and rock to the key function of all 4 members to the sound; though all of these elements would later be developed, the album was the blueprint Led Zeppelin continued to follow for the rest of their career.

Led Zeppelin created a large and devoted following for the band. Their then-unique proto-metal and psychedelic sound endeared them to a section of the counterculture on both sides of the Atlantic. Though the album has since been overshadowed somewhat by it's follow-up, Led Zeppelin II, music critics still consider it a classic to this day.

Despite the originality displayed on the album, lead songwriter Jimmy Page was proven to have adapted riffs and melodies from existing blues performers of the time on small sections of the album, and when the band became famous this caught up with him and various lawsuits forced the band to give credit for certain songs, such as "You Shook Me".

The cover art shows the Hindenburg disaster.

In 2003 the TV network VH1 named Led Zeppelin the 44th greatest album of all time.

  1. Good Times Bad Times
  2. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
  3. You Shook Me
  4. Dazed and Confused
  5. Your Time is Gonna Come
  6. Black Mountain Side (Instrumental)
  7. Communication Breakdown
  8. I Cant Quit You Baby
  9. How Many More Times

Led Zeppelin Lyrics